Fidalgo and Whidbey Islands

I love traveling but I have to admit, ferries give me a little anxiety, what time does it leave?  How much will it cost? Will I have to wait hours to get on (like some of the horror stories I’ve heard)?  So when I found out there are some nearby islands I could drive to, I was excited to say the least.  The first chance I got, I talked my husband into taking a trip to Fidalgo and Whidbey islands and I’m so glad I did!  This trip is another to put on your Washington bucket list for sure!  The first major spot we decided to visit was Deception Pass. Check out my more detailed blog about it here.  Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.  We then just kind of wandered around and went back to our hotel room (not a great hotel, it was kind of grungy and overpriced so I will not be recommending it here.)  We woke up the next morning and planned to be at Eerie Mountain (on Fidalgo Island) at sunrise but we got there just a little after, which turned out to be a good thing, the ride up would probably have been dangerous in the dark.  It turned out to be the perfect time to go and the views were magnificent!

Next, we headed up to the quaint town of Anacortes.  We stopped and got snacks at the grocery store and it began to rain.  Luckily we were rewarded with a rainbow.  We chased it through the town and suddenly we saw where it ended, over the Puget Sound!

10922375_10152521674801400_8584601884344195442_o

We didn’t do much exploring around Anacortes, but I hear it’s a charming town and plan to go back.  Check out more info here http://www.cityofanacortes.org/.

Next we drove down to Whidbey Island.  We didn’t really have much of a plan, which could have turned out badly but luckily we happened upon a beautiful lighthouse next to the beach. Check out the website for the Admiralty Head Lighthouse for more information.

It would have been great to drive back up through the islands and go back the way we came, but we ended up next to a Ferry and decided to check when the next one was leaving.  We happened to be able to make the next one that was about a 30 minute wait.  It ended up being less expensive than I thought (around $16 I believe for our truck, 2 adults and 2 kids) and saved a lot of time.  We also were able to drive through the amazing town of Port Townsend and get home a little before schedule. These beautiful islands are less than 2 hours from my house and I had no idea they existed!  Washington is amazing, and you never know what you’ll find when you get out and explore. So get out of the house, explore, and capture adventure!

Leave a Reply

